Lady in Satin + 11 Bonus Tracks
Lady in Satin + 11 Bonus Tracks

Lady in Satin + 11 Bonus Tracks

Billie Holiday
  • CD

  • 1

  • 170021



Contains new specially prepared liner notes by PENGUIN GUIDE TO JAZZ’s writer BRIAN MORTON and by Paris’ prestigious JAZZ MAGAZINE


“Revisionists and counter-revisionists argue back and forth,but it remains unmistakable that Holiday’s inimitable way with a heartache song only deepened as her own life unravelled. A compilation of her dozen years recording for Verve was put out under the title Lady in Autumn, which is a marketing cliché, but also a perfect description, for these are autumnal performances: ripe with experience, laden with anticipations of the chill of death, hanging on precariously but ready to fall.” PENGUIN GUIDE TO JAZZ

“Every track is performed in an inimitable and extraordinary way, and the tragic mood never falls into the pathetic. Even today Billie continues to influence the style of innumerable singers and instrumentalists, both male and female. What’s the secret? Just the fact that Billie Holiday simply invented a way of singing: a language.” JAZZ MAGAZINE


Billie Holiday, vocals
Ray Ellis and His Orchestra

[1-12] LADY IN SATIN: Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York, February 18-20, 1958.

Same personnel. New York, March 3, 4 & 11, 1959.


01. I’m a Fool to Want You
02. For Heaven’s Sake
03. You Don’t Know What Love Is
04. I Get Along Without You Very Well
05. For All We Know
06. Violets for Your Furs
07. You’ve Changed
08. It’s Easy to Remember
09. But Beautiful
10. Glad to Be Unhappy
11. I’ll Be Around
12. The End of a Love Affair
13. All of You (*)
14. Sometimes I’m Happy (*)
15. You Took Advantage of Me (*)
16. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South (*)
17. There’ll Be Some Changes Made (*)
18. ‘Deed I Do (*)
19. Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me (*)
20. All the Way (*)
21. It’s Not for Me to Say (*)
22. I’ll Never Smile Again (*)
23. Baby Won’t You Please Come Home (*)

TOTAL TIME: 78:38 min.

Label code
TCM 161658

16 other products in the same category:

Product added to wishlist