Meets Oscar Peterson + 4 Bonus Tracks
Meets Oscar Peterson + 4 Bonus Tracks

Meets Oscar Peterson + 4 Bonus Tracks

Louis Armstrong
  • CD

  • 1

  • 170026



Contains new specially prepared liner notes by PENGUIN GUIDE TO JAZZ’s writer BRIAN MORTON and by Paris’ prestigious JAZZ MAGAZINE


“Some critics have portrayed the Armstrong-Peterson encounter as if it were a heavyweight fight won on points by the younger, faster man. They can’t have been listening. Armstrong is by no means bested. It’s good to hear him on more obviously ‘modern’ material and while the accompaniments are certainly faster and busier than he would normally expect or like, he isn’t one bit discouraged. In fact, one gets the feeling that while the group is working hard, Pops is merely having a fun day in the studio, doing what he had done, serenely and with grace, for years.” PENGUIN GUIDE TO JAZZ

“Armstrong had lost none of his magic, which is apparent in his vibrant and facetious voice, imbued with striking emotion, and also in the sound of his jubilant and luminous trumpet. The two sides of Louis’ genius find a perfect balance with Oscar Peterson’s delicate playing. Jewellery of simplicity and sophistication, of joys and sorrows, of wisdom and insanity, this is an indispensable album for your collection” JAZZ MAGAZINE.


Louis Armstrong, vocals & trumpet
Oscar Peterson, piano
Herb Ellis, guitar
Ray Brown, bass
Louis Bellson, drums

Chicago, October 14, 1957.


01. That Old Feeling
02. Let’s Fall in Love
03. I’ll Never Be the Same
04. Blues in the Night
05. How Long Has This Been Going On?
06. I Was Doing All Right
07. What’s New?
08. Moon Song
09. Just One of Those Things
10. There’s No You
11. You Go to My Head
12. Sweet Lorraine
13. I Get a Kick Out of You (*)
14. Makin’ Whoopee (*)
15. Willow Weep for Me (*)
16. Let’s Do It (Let’s Fall in Love) (*)

TOTAL TIME: 71:10 min.

(*) Bonus tracks

Label code
TCM 161663

16 other products in the same category:

Product added to wishlist